For Immediate Release

Missouri S&T Faculty Awarded FastTrack Grants

Research Teams Led by Drs. Berg, Rovey, Tsai, and Zoughi Awarded Grants to Further Innovative Translational Research

ROLLA, Mo., May 23, 2016 – The University of Missouri System (UM System) awarded FastTrack grants to 10 innovative research projects from across the UM campuses. Once again, research teams from Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) fared well in the competitive funding program winning three (3) of the grants.

“Missouri S&T proposals tend to do well in the FastTrack competition because we emphasize projects that are application-driven,” says Keith Strassner, director of Missouri S&T’s Office of Technology Transfer and Economic Development (TTED). “Our office also does a lot to try to help faculty apply concepts and methodologies from the lean entrepreneurship movement into their research efforts.”

This is the fifth year that the UM System Office of Research and Economic Development has provided funding up to $50,000 per proposal to support cutting-edge translational research projects from each of the UM campuses. Tenured and tenure-track faculty as well as full-time ranked, non-tenure research faculty are eligible to submit proposals to the program. Successful projects often lead to industry collaborations, out-licenses, the formation of new spinout companies, or the development of technologies for commercial applications.

TTED coordinated the evaluation process for Missouri S&T which was conducted by a four-person selection committee that included Keith Strassner and Malcolm Townes from TTED; Dr. Jeffrey Cawlfield, professor of geological engineering and vice-provost for undergraduate studies; and Dr. Bruce McMillin, professor of computer science and associate dean for the college of engineering and computing. The committee evaluated 12 proposals submitted by Missouri S&T research teams. It then chose the four (4) proposals that were the most innovative and competitive to submit to UM System for further consideration. The committee provided feedback to all the submitters and TTED offered suggestions and coaching to the four research teams selected to go on to the UM System level competition.

Three of the four proposals from Missouri S&T were awarded FastTrack grants in the overall competition. UM System awarded FastTrack grants to the following Missouri S&T proposals:

Project Title: Development and Commercialization of Multi-mode Micro-propulsion
Principal Investigators: Drs. Joshua L. Rovey and Steven P. Berg, department of mechanical and aerospace engineering

Project Title: 3D Printing for Amorphous Metal Structures
Principal Investigator: Dr. Hai-Lung Tsai, department of mechanical and aerospace engineering

Project Title: Millimeter Wave Imaging System Development for Diagnosis of Skin Cancers and Burns
Principal Investigator: Dr. Reza Zoughi, department of electrical and computer engineering.


Mr. Keith Strassner


Office of Technology Transfer and Economic Development